My Home Made Tortellini

I LOVE Tortellini,Having made Pasta from scratch…This was the obvious progression…

The first step in making the Pasta…5 Eggs and 2.5 cups unbleached all purpose Flour.

Mixing in theEggs and Flour.I like doing this by hand as it is the traditional way.

I kneaded the dough for 10 minutes to help the Gluten form.

I put a tablespoon of Olive Oil in a bowl,rolled around the Dough ball, covered it with Plastic wrap and let rest for 1 hour.

Rolling Half of the Dough as thin as possible.Then repeating with the other half.

Using a Biscuit Cutter to make 1.75 inch Circles.

My stuffing.Ricotta Cheese,Grated Roast,Garlic,Sausage, browned and finely crumbled,Grated Aged Romano Cheese and Fresh Basil.

Stuffing and forming the Tortellini.

My Beautiful Hand Made Tortellini !

I melted Butter and Aged Romano with Black Pepper, a bit of fresh, Thyme and Mushroom in a saucepan and poured it over the Tortellini.PERFECT! This took 2 hours but it was worth EVERY minute!

3 Responses to “My Home Made Tortellini”

    • Back in school, I’m doing so much leninrag.

    • I made sure all 3 of my kids did 8 and under swimming with the WRATS (under Bob Knoebel way back when). They loved it and I wouldn’t have had it any other way. They all do different sports now, but their swimming skills will be with them the rest of their lives. It’s amazing though, the number of kids they swam with who continued and have done amazingly with their swimming careers in high school, etc… It’s a great sport! And the Y is a great facility and will only be better when the new one is built!

Leave a Reply

