My Breakfast Pot Pie!

I woke up in the mood to cook(As usual)I had some Butternut Squash and a Sweet Potato that I needed to use so…

I diced or cubed Squash,Sweet Potato,Sweet Onion,Garlic and a Green Chili Pepper that I had removed the seeds from and allowed to dry out.

I Caramelized the Onion,Garlic and Pepper and set aside.

I tossed The Sweet Potato and Squash in some Canola Oil and, spread them out on a baking sheet.I dusted them with Cinnamon,Nutmeg and Ginger and then roasted them for 15 minutes at 400F.

I have no Milk so I scanned the Inter-web for a Biscuit Recipe with none.

The Biscuit recipe is at the end of my post…

I sprayed and floured a 7 inch Ramekin and, lined it with my rolled Biscuits.

Next I tossed all of the ingredients(Squash,Sweet Potato,Onion,Garlic and Pepper in a bowl with 3 beaten Eggs.I filled the Ramekin about 3/4 of the way allowing for Biscuit expansion.I then draped the pie with the remaining Dough and cut several slits in the top.

I brushed a simple Egg Wash over it to make it Brown and Shiny.

I popped it in the oven at 375F until the Biscuit looked done.

I put it on the top shelf and put a baking sheet below in case it overflowed.

My Breakfast Pie turned out WONDERFULLY!

At the last minute I thought of adorning it with a nice Biscuit Leaf!

I found this simple very good recipe at Cooks.Com…

NO MILK, NO EGG BISCUITS
2 c. flour
3 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
6 tbsp. oil or soft shortening
2/3 c. water
Mix all ingredients together. Add enough flour to knead easily. Knead on floured board about 30 seconds. Roll out to 1/2 inch thick. Cut with small cutter. Place on ungreased cookie sheet.Bake at 450°F for 10 to 12 minutes.Makes 15 to 20 biscuits.
Leave a Reply

