My Nine Month Old Sourdough Starters

In honor of Nov.7TH being my Sourdough Starters 9 month mark…Here it is!

Ah… The Science of REAL Sourdough. This starter took 6 days to prepare.It took several weeks to ferment to perfection and,maintained properly will grow and be useful indefinitely.Here is a link to a tutorial.
http://www.thefreshloaf.com/node/10251/starting-starter-sourdough-101-tutorial

Day 1 – 1/3 Cup Rye Flour and 1/4 Cup water

Day 2 – Added 1/4 Cup Unbleached Bread Flour and 1/8 Cup of Water.

Day 3 – Quite Smelly…Stirred it down.Threw out Half.Added 1/4 Cup Unbleached Bread Flour and 1/8 Cup Water.

Day 4 -After it more than doubled in size,I threw out Half and added 1/4 cup Unbleached Bread Flour and 1/8 cup of water

Day 5- My starter MORE than tripled.Put 1/4 cup of the starter and 3/4 cup of the Unbleached Bread Flour and 1/2 cup of water.Put it in a mayo jar where I will now feed it and cook with it at least 1 time every week.

I just had the first taste of, my 35 day old Live, Sourdough Starter…WOW! it is working well! This is my third English Muffin recipe.I incorporated my starter in a Peter Reinhart recipe.Then used some of my Home Made, Butter and the last of my Peach Jam…Great lunch!

Brilliant, Sourdough Dinner Rolls…

Sourdough Pretzels!

I have used my Starters many times in the last 9 months.I use Unbleached All Purpose Flour to feed them and, I now Refrigerate them so I don’t have to feed them quite as often…

Leave a Reply

